Getting Started – User Roles

This article explains the differences in the different roles in Tourwriter.

Organisation settings

The organisation admin can access the Teams page by clicking the settings cog icon. They can change your team details here and assign different user roles to your team. 

  1. Select the settings cog icon in the navigation bar. The organisation setting area consists of 4 main areas. 

There are two user roles in Tourwriter, Agent and Admin. When you sign up to Tourwriter Free Trial or a Tourwriter plan, you are assigned the first admin role. As the first admin, you can add other admins or agents to your organisation.

The Admin role

As an organisation admin, you can see a list of team members within your organisation, manage permissions and invite new users to your team.

The Admin has a few privileges over the Agent. Let’s take a look at some of the tasks that you, as an Admin, can perform.

 
AccessAdminAgent
Add member to organisationYesNo
View itineraryYesonly the itinerary they have created or the itinerary they are added as a contributor
Edit itineraryYesonly the itinerary they have created or the itinerary they are added as a contributor
Edit suppliersYesYes
Chat with travellersYesYes
Access organisation setting (e.g. change Tourwriter plans, setup default currencies, change themes, )Yes No
Archiving suppliers & productsYes No
Archiving itinerariesYesonly the itinerary they have created or the itinerary they are added as a contributor

The Team sub tab lists the existing list of team members within your organisation, as seen in the screenshot below.

As your organisation’s admin, you can perform the following actions: 

  • Deactivate Users: The inactive users will not be able to log in to your organisation.
  • Re-invite Users: Re-invite a user whose invitation has expired.
  • Edit User Information: Change the user details and change their role to either an admin or an agent.

Managing Invites

As your organisation’s admin, you can manage invitations sent to other organisation members. You can invite a new member, resend an invite, and also cancel a pending invite.

Inviting a new user

As an admin, you can add a new user to your team through a few simple steps:

  1. Head to Organisation > Team on the Tourwriter Navigation bar.
  2. Select Invite team member
  3. Enter the new team member’s details and assign them a Role – Admin or an Agent. The role determines their privileges in the organisation. 

  1. Click Send invite to send an invite through email.

Note: When the invitee clicks Activate my Account, they are prompted to create a new password. Once done, they can log in to Tourwriter.

Cancelling a pending invite

With the admin privilege, you can cancel an invite sent to a user. The status of the invitation must be Pending to cancel an invite. The steps to cancel a pending invite are:

  1. Head to Organisation > Team on the navigation bar.
  2. Access the Options menu. The Options menu can be seen by clicking the three vertical dots at the end of each row, as shown in the screenshot below. 

  1. Select Cancel invitation.

Note: When the user clicks the link in the email which has been cancelled, they see an error message instead of being able to set a password.

Resend an invite

If an invitee does not activate their Tourwriter account within 72 hours of receiving the invitation email, the link expires. As an admin, you can resend the invitation rather than sending a new invitation. Resend the invite through the following steps: 

  1. Access the Options menu.
  2. For a user where the Status is Pending or Expired, select Resend invitation in the Options menu to resend the invitation as shown below.

Manage User Activations

A Tourwriter admin can deactivate an organisation user, reactivate the user and edit a user’s details.

Deactivate a user

A user can be deactivated when they no longer belong to the organisation. A user whose account has deactivated still appears in the organisation so that they can be added later. 

  1. Access the Options menu.
  2. For a user with the status Registered, select Deactivate user. A prompt appears on the notification bar confirming the user has been deactivated.

Note: When an inactive user tries to log in, they see the following message: “The account you are trying to access is no longer active. Contact your organisation administrator for assistance.”

Reactivate a user

A deactivated user’s account can be reactivated. Reactivating an inactive user lets you add them to the organisation. 

  1. Access the Options menu against the inactive user. An inactive member has their details greyed out.
  2. Select Activate user to add them back to the organisation. The activation is confirmed through a message on the notification bar.

Edit the user details

As an admin, you can edit a user’s details, such as their first name, last name and email address. Email is editable by the admin only.

  1. Access the Option menu for a user.
  2. Select Edit user. This opens up a new window.
  3. Modify the user’s information as required.

Note: A user email can only be edited if a user has not accepted their invite.  The status for such a user shows as Pending

Note: Change a new theme for your organisation by switching to the Themes section. For detailed steps, refer to the Themes: How to choose your Fonts & Colours article

Accessing Itinerary Information

You can view all itineraries in your organisation if you are assigned the Admin role. In contrast, an Agent can only view the itineraries they have created. 

  • The itinerary displays a symbol with the itinerary owner’s profile picture.  If they have not added a profile pic, the first letter of the owner of the itinerary is displayed instead.
  • You can hover your mouse over the symbol to see the name of the itinerary owner.